Bohemia Walled Garden Association Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 17th May 2025 10am

Held at the His Place Church, Community Church and Café, Robertson Street, Hastings, East Sussex, TN34 1HL

(1)Welcome

Nigel Sinden (chair) opened the meeting and welcomed those present.

Present

Darren Windley, Lesley Bruce, Nigel Sinden, Sue Jirbandey, Beryl Lovett, Kamila Breen, Christine M'Baye

(2)Apologies

Dot Hill, Mat Windley, Justine Munro, Rupert Bozeat, Philippa Beagley, Danielle Castelino, Chris Munn, Karen Hayler

(3)Minutes of the 2024AGM

Copies of the minutes were circulated and Nigel asked if there were any comments.

(4) Matters arising and adoption of the 2024 AGM minutes

The Grumpy Cook Cafe was asked if they wanted an educational plot, but declined. A volunteer from Ground Work (Mark) still manages their plot and they are still seeking funding to restart offering wellbeing and green skills sessions in the garden.

With no further matters arising the minutes were proposed by Christine M'Baye and seconded by Beryl Lovett.

(5)Accounts & Trustee Annual Report for 2024 and adoption

Copies of the annual report and accounts were circulated with the AGM invite and copies were available at the meeting. Darren thanked Lesley for all her efforts in managing and running the refreshments at events as they make up a large part of our income. Highlights from the annual report were read out.

The annual report was proposed by Lesley Bruce and seconded by Sue Jirbandey.

(6)Action Plan for 2025 and adoption

Copies of the plan were circulated with the AGM invite and copies were available at the meeting.

There was a discussion about water collection and that the funding we may get from the Police Property Act Fund could pay for this. Reminder to be sent plot holders to not use pesticides and be added to the Plotholder Terms and Conditions. Rupert Bozeat is working with the Waterless Toilet supplier to understand why water isn't evaporating effectively.

The action plan was proposed by Nigel Sinden and seconded by Christine M'Baye.

(7) Election of Trustees

The current trustees are Nigel Sinden, Sue Jirbandey, Beryl Lovett and Lesley Bruce. All were willing to stand for another year and it was unanimously agreed by the audience.

(8) Any Other Business

No items were submitted.